New Van Halen Track By Track #5

Van Halen’s A Different Kind of Truth comes out Feb 7, but we’ve got our hands on it already.  Here’s our thoughts on the last few tracks of the new record:

Track 11 – “Stay Frosty” Wanna dedicate this one to the ladies.  Yeah, it’s a re-write of “Ice Cream Man” complete with the acoustic guitar (the picking is even similar).  But, you know what?  It works.  It’s fun – Dave’s not pushing his voice – and he even gives a good scream at the 3:29 mark.  This is some vintage Diamond Dave-era VH.

Track 12 – “Big River” Has a thumping bass line very much like “Runnin’ With the Devil.”  Another old re-worked 1976 demo. Over half the song is Eddie soloing, which is never a bad thing.

Track 13 – “Beats Workin’” Opens with a sinister set of long guitar chords – almost feels like AC/DC – like “Walk All Over You.”  Great bassline, Wolfie – I’m hearing a little of “Day Tripper” in there.  Lots of feedback at the end.  Strong way to end the record.

Here’s part one of our review

Here’s part two

Here’s part three

Here’s part four